Tyler Hay announced as winner of Dudley International Piano Competition

01 December 2022
By Ellie Palmer
The British pianist secured First Prize with a performance of Saint-Saëns Concerto No 2 on 24 November in Birmingham, UK

The winners of the 2022 Dudley International Piano Competition have been announced.

First Prize and £4,000 has been awarded to Tyler Hay, Second Prize and £3,000 to Luke Jones, and Third Prize and £2,000 to Maxim Kinasov. 

From left to right: Tyler Hay (1st place), Luke Jones (2nd place), Maxim Kinasov (3rd place) 


The Finals took place at Birmingham's world famous Symphony Hall, where the finalists were conducted by CBSO's Michael Seal.

Previous winners of this competition, which has been running since 1968, include Paul Lewis, Graham Scott, Peter Donohoe, and Joanna MacGregor - the former of which was on this year's judging panel.


Content continues after advertisements

The finalists await the results


Winner Tyler Hay stormed to victory with a performance of Saint-Saëns's much-loved Concerto No 2. Luke Jones secured second with a performance of Beethoven's Concerto No 3, while Maxim Kinasov impressed in third with Liszt's Concerto No 1. All three performed their pieces on a Shigeru Kawai SK-EX Concert Grand Piano.

We look forward to hearing more from these three talented pianists in the future!



Content continues after advertisement