Russia's International Tchaikovsky Competition expelled from World Federation of International Music Competitions

20 April 2022
By Ellie Palmer
The Federation, who state they are apolitical, say they cannot support a competition that is "financed and used as a promotional tool by the Russian regime".

The world-famous International Tchaikovsky Competition has been officially removed from the World Federation of International Music Competitions, the organisation announced yesterday. 

The classical music competition is held every four years in Russia. Its first ever instalment took place in 1958 when the Soviet Union still existed. Past winners include Van Cliburn, Grigory Sokolov, Boris Berezovsky, Daniil Trifonov and Alexandre Kantorow.

In a statement released on 19 April, the Federation said:

"In a vote following its Extraordinary General Assembly held on 13 April 2022, the World Federation of International Music Competitions has decided with an overwhelming majority of member votes to exclude the International Tchaikovsky Competition from its membership with immediate effect.

Many laureates of the Tchaikovsky Competition are among the leading artists of today. However, in the face of Russia´s brutal war and humanitarian atrocities in Ukraine, the WFIMC as an apolitical organization cannot support or have as a member, a competition financed and used as a promotional tool by the Russian regime.

Content continues after advertisements

While our first and foremost goal must always be the active support of young artists, and right now particularly Ukrainian artists, the WFIMC affirms its previous statement against blanket sanctions on all Russians and against the discrimination and exclusion of individual artists, based on their nationality.

In times of war especially, we believe it to be essential to maintain a dialogue with those who trust us and who share our values, the same way as we trust them."

Main image: ©International Tchaikovsky Competition