Pianists Pavel Kolesnikov and Samson Tsoy named in 2023 Aldeburgh Festival line-up

19 December 2022
By Ellie Palmer
The 74th edition of the festival takes place from Friday 9 to Sunday 25 June 2023

The full line-up for next year's Aldeburgh Festival has been announced today.

The Suffolk-based festival will feature Russian pianist Pavel Kolesnikov as one of its leading names, and he is due to give seven concerts across the course of the festival.

Kolesnikov, who appeared on the cover of Pianist 103, will first perform a constellation of pieces by Messiaen, Chopin, and Couperin,
Thomas Adès and Schubert, accompanied by interplanetary projections and lighting, on 10 June (7.30pm, Snape Maltings Concert Hall).

16 June will see him perform JS Bach (9.30pm, Britten Studio), before he's joined by fellow pianist Samson Tsoy for two programmes; Preludes and Fugues by Bach and Shostakovich played on two pianos (12 June, 11am, Aldeburgh Jubilee Hall), and Kurtág's enigmatic arrangements of Bach for two pianos (17 June, 11am, Aldeburgh Jubilee Hall).

The 74th edition of the festival takes place from Friday 9 to Sunday 25 June 2023


Content continues after advertisements

The pair return on 22 June for a performance at Blythburgh Church in which they play an atmospheric programme inspired by the unique location and its cherished sunsets (8.30pm).

On the final day of the festival, Kolesnikov joins the Britten Sinfonia for three contrasting concertos: Britten’s Young Apollo for piano, string quartet and string orchestra, Mozart’s Jeunehomme and Arvo Pärt’s Lamentate, a homage to Anish Kapoor and his sculpture Marsyas (25 June, 3pm, Snape Maltings Concert Hall).

Elsewhere there are performances from baritone and composer Roderick Williams and composers Anna Thorvaldsdottir and Cassandra Miller, a world premiere of Sarah Angliss’ new opera Giant, performances from ensembles such as the Sinfonia of London, the BBC Philharmonic, the BBC Symphony Orchestra and others.

 Tickets will go on general sale on Saturday 28 January at 10am.

A full breakdown of the line-up can be found here.

Main image: ©Joss McKinley