Mitsuko Uchida among pianist winners at Gramophone Awards 2022

05 October 2022
By Ellie Palmer
Uchida prevailed in the Piano Category for her recording of Beethoven's Diabelli Variations

Mitsuko Uchida, Leif Ove Andsnes and Daniel Barenboim were among the winners at last night's Gramophone Classical Music Awards

The former's recording of Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations – her first studio recording since 2016 – claimed the Piano Award, while Andsnes received the Special Achievement Award for his work with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra on their two Mozart Momentum volumes for Sony Classical.

Argentine legend Daniel Barenboim was handed the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his exceptional contribution to classical music during his career. In the same evening, Barenboim announced he was taking a step back from the performing stage due to health reasons.


Gramophone Awards 2022 © Ed Telling


The awards ceremony was the first in-person Gramophone Awards since 2019. The evening was jam-packed with performances from some of the classical world's best soloists and ensembles. Award winner Andsnes was joined on stage by Swedish violinist Johan Dalene, who was awarded Young Artists of the Year, for a live performance of a movement from Grieg's Violin Sonata No 2. Elsewhere, there were live performances from the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain, the Orchestra for the Age of Enlightenment, pianist Bruce Liu, former winner cellist Christian-Pierre La Marca, and pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, representing Label of the Year, Chandos.  


Full list of winners:

Opera & Recording of the Year

Korngold: Die tote Stadt (Sols; Bayerisches Staatsorchester / Kirill Petrenko)



Ysaÿe: Six Solo Violin Sonatas (James Ehnes)


Early Music

Josquin: ‘Baisiez Moy’ (Thélème / Jean-Christophe Groffe)



Mahler: Symphony No 7 (Bayerisches Staatsorchester / Kirill Petrenko)



Bartók. Beethoven. Berg: Violin Concertos (Frank-Peter Zimmermann; Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra / Alan Gilbert, Daniel Harding, Kirill Petrenko)



Beethoven: Diabelli Variations (Mitsuko Uchida)


Concept Album

Enargeia (Emily D'Angelo; Das Freie Orchester Berlin / Jarkko Riihimäki)



Abrahamsen: The Snow Queen (Sols; Chorus and Orchestra of the Bavarian State Opera / Cornelius Meister)



Content continues after advertisements

’Round Midnight (Quatuor Ebène; Antoine Tamestit; Nicolas Altstaedt)



JS Bach: St Matthew Passion (Sols; Pygmalion / Raphaël Pichon)



Rachmaninov: Songs – ‘Dissonance’ (Asmik Grigorian; Lukas Geniušas)


Voice & Ensemble

‘BariTenor’ (Michael Spyres; Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra / Marko Letonja)


Spatial Audio

Ravel: Orchestral Works (Sinfonia of London / John Wilson)


Special Awards

Label of the Year



Artist of the Year

Barbara Hannigan


Young Artist of the Year

Johan Dalene


Special Achievement

Mozart Momentum (Leif Ove Andsnes; Mahler Chamber Orchestra)


Lifetime Achievement

Daniel Barenboim


Orchestra of the Year

Budapest Festival Orchestra