Janina Fialkowska releases new autobiography

26 November 2021
By Ellie Palmer
'A Note in Time' is out now

Polish-Canadian pianist Janina Fialkowska has released a new biography titled 'A Note in Time'. 

The book combines numerous archival photographs, the author’s precious memories and recollections from an incredibly rich life in music, including encounters with some of the most important musical figures and fascinating personalities over five decades.


The book describes her meeting with the legendary Arthur Rubinstein who subsequently shaped the course of her career, her colourful adventures as a young North American woman in the male-dominated music world and her final triumph over horrific illness

Content continues after advertisements


This includes Sir Georg Solti, Zubin Mehta, Bernard Haitink, Emil Gilels, Hollywood actors Grace Kelly (Princess Grace), Danny Kaye, Ginger Rogers, Deborah Kerr and her cousin – Christopher Plummer, as well as the Queen Mother and many others.

Hailed as “One of the Grand Dames of the Piano” by the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Fialkowska was discovered in Israel by Arthur Rubinstein in 1974. She subsequently became his last protégée, working with him until his death in 1982.

You can read the first 9 pages of the autobiography for free here.

'A Note in Time' is out now. Get your copy here.

Main image: © Julien Faugère / ATMA

Content continues after advertisement