Isata Kanneh-Mason releases two new piano books with ABRSM

07 September 2023
By Ellie Palmer
'Piano Inspiration' Volumes 1 & 2 are out now

Acclaimed pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason has teamed up with ABRSM to release two new collections of piano music. 

'Piano Inspiration' Volume 1 & Volume 2 shine a new light on her thrilling rise from child prodigy to international performer, and curate a personal collection of piano music by composers as diverse as Coleridge-Taylor, Robert Schumann and Natalie Klouda.

The pieces selected by Isata, who appeared on the cover of Pianist 110, span the worlds of classical and contemporary music and highlight her own memories of early music learning and the influences of music by women of colour.

The pieces selected are suitable for players Grade 4 and above as well as advanced learners, and include a new piece by Errollyn Wallen and a waltz written by Isata herself. The pieces are ideal for using as own-choice repertoire in ABRSM Performance Grades.


Content continues after advertisements


The pianist comments, "I’ve selected music by some truly inspirational female composers and composers of colour, and I’m particularly thrilled to present two new works by Natalie Klouda and Errollyn Wallen, along with my own Waltz – all composed specially for these books.”

ABRSM Head of Content Claire Webb said: “ABRSM is delighted to have collaborated with Isata to create this fantastic collection. Isata’s choices represent her personal musical journey and will spread the joy of discovering a diverse and exciting range of music to a wide audience of pianists.”

Isata heads on tour this Autumn! More information on how you can get tickets can be found here.