First China International Music Competition announces their 22 participants

11 February 2019
By Ellie Palmer
China International Music Competition China International Music Competition
The competition will award US$150,000 to its winner.

The First China International Music Competition, newly created by the Global Music Education League and China Conservatory of Music, has announced the twenty-two pianists who will participate in Beijing from May 4 to 21 2019.

The competitors, all between seventeen and twenty-eight years of age, have been selected by the world’s foremost international music authorities and come from a total of ten countries: Australia, Belarus, Canada, China, Georgia, Italy, Kazakhstan, Russia, South Korea, and the United States. Several competitors currently attend the world’s leading conservatories, and many have already won prizes at major international piano competitions such as the Cliburn, Chopin, and Queen Elisabeth.

The Competition will award a first prize of US$150,000 and a gold medal, a second prize of US$75,000 and a silver medal, and a third prize of US$30,000 and a crystal award to its top three winners. In addition, the gold medalist will gain representation by two major international artist management companies: Opus 3 Artists in the United States and Armstrong Music and Arts in China which, combined, will coordinate three years of international concert tours.

Content continues after advertisements

The distinguished international jury of the inaugural Competition includes: Li-Guang Wang, president of the China International Music Competition, chairman of the Global Music Education League, and president of the China Conservatory of Music; Yoheved Kaplinsky, chairman of the jury and artistic director of the Competition; Dmitri Alexeev; Jan Jiracek von Arnim; Lydia Artymiw; Boris Berman; Michel Béroff; Fabio Bidini; Warren Jones; Katarzyna Popowa-ZydroĹ„; and Arie Vardi. None of the competitors currently study or have ever studied with any member of the jury.

You can find out more details about the competition in the official announcement of the competition.


The competitors

Alim Beisembayev - Kazakhstan 
Leonardo Colafelice - Italy
Anna Dmytrenko - USA 
Giuseppe Guarrera - Italy
Anna Han - USA
Honggi Kim - South Korea
Bowen Li - China 
Alexander Malofeev - Russia
Mackenzie Melemed - USA
Sandro Nebieridze - Georgia
Luka Okros - Georgia
Linzi Pan - China 
Changyong Shin - South Korea 
Dmitry Shishkin - Russia
Andrei Shychko - Belarus 
Hans H. Suh - South Korea 
Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev - Russia 
Anastasia Vorotnaya - Russia
Rio Xiang - Australia
Tony Yike Yang - Canada
Jialin Yao - China
Tony Yun - Canada