Arthur Rubinstein Virtual PianoFest kicks off

fe32fa14-dfd4-4e91-b418-48f079085760

By Ellie Palmer

06 May 2020

The online event is replacing the now-postponed 16th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition

The Rubinstein Competition and the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music (BMSM) at Tel Aviv University have partnered up to created the Arthur Rubinstein Virtual PianoFest, which will run from 5-21 May.

The festival includes a wide variety of events, encompassing famous laureates of the Rubinstein Competition, rising pianists on the Israeli and international scene, and leading pedagogues and composers.

The events broadly fall into three areas - livestreamed recitals, broadcasts of classic archive performances from the competition's past years, and supporting discussion-based events. All events take place at 6pm Israel time / 5pm Central European Time / 4pm British Summer Time / 11am Eastern Daylight Time.

The livestreamed recitals will include performances from leading pianists of our day. Event highlights include:

  • Boris Giltburg, livestreaming from the Netherlands on Sunday 17 May
  • Roman Rabinovich, livestreaming his recital from Calgary, Canada on Friday 8 May
  • Alexander Korsantia from his home in Boston, also on Friday 8 May 

Boris featured on the cover of issue 82 of Pianist.

All other live performances will be streamed from the BMSM's renowned Clairmont Hall in Israel, including a nightly recital series featuring 12 top young Israeli pianists - all recent winners of national piano competitions and/or members of the Rubinstein Competition Junior Jury and some already making very impressive international inroads in the early stages of their careers.

There will also be a selection of interview and discussions, including an interview with Dr. Alina Rubinstein, daughter of Arthur Rubinstein, about her father's career and musical legacy, on 9 May.

All events will stream on the Facebook pages / websites of the partner organisations (the Arthur Rubinstein International Music Society, the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music at Tel Aviv University, and Haaretz).

It’s going to be exciting!

For full details of all events, visit www.arims.org.il.

Main image: ©Arthur Rubinstein Piano Festival