WATCH: 5 jaw-dropping live piano performances from Van Cliburn

16 May 2022
By Ellie Palmer
Enjoy the very best of the legendary American pianist Van Cliburn! He appears on the cover of Pianist 126, which you can order or download below

Content continues after advertisements


Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 3 in D minor, Op 30

With the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Kirill Kondrashin, 1958



Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1 Movement III

With conductor Kirill Kondrashin, 1962



Liszt Un Sospiro

Date unknown




Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1

With the Boston Symphony Orchestra and conductor Erich Leinsdorf, Tanglewood Festival, 1964



American National Anthem



Main image: ©Nijs, Jac. de / Anefo


Van Cliburn appears on the cover of Pianist 126 – a special American issue. Inside, the pianist's biographer Stuart Isacoff tells the remarkable story of Van Cliburn’s trajectory to fame.